Still Life

I’m taking a correspondence course and Topic 5 is all about still-life photography.  For our assignment, I’m supposed to submit three compositions to my professor: the first one should be made up of natural grown objects, the second from man-made objects and the third should be a composition of assorted fabrics, paper, plastics.

banana-2

The image above is my attempt at being creative with a bunch of bananas. I didn’t want to go out and buy an assortment of fruits and veggies just so I could complete my assignment so I decided to work with what I had readily available. I had planned on using tomatoes and I had visions of sliced tomatoes and knives dancing in my  head when  I saw the bananas sitting quietly on my benchtop. AHA! I decided to use the bananas as my subject instead. Not only were they different, they would stand out against my red walls. So there. Bananas in Pajamas. (click on photo for more banana pictures – warning, some photos may be a bit racy.)

bear-1

I needed to take photos of man-made objects for the 2nd part of my assignment and since I didn’t have enough jewelry for that, nor do I have workshop tools, I decided to use this curly-haired lion from my teddy bear collection. Unfortunately, I’m not completely satisfied with the results of the photo-shoot. This bear was very photogenic, but the others weren’t. I will have to try and do something again later this afternoon. Perhaps I will use all the forks I have in the kitchen, or the knives. My still-life with the teddy bears turned out like a practice pictorial session. My bear can now send in his headshots (and paw shot) to talent agencies. Not the impact I had in mind.

thread-1

For Task 3, I used some of my cross-stitching thread as my subject. To put some sort of ‘relevance’ into the composition, I added an unfinished cross-stitch project, an embroidery hoop, and a big cross-stitch pattern in the mix. Hopefully, it wouldn’t look too “staged” and just appear as if someone was cross-stitching and decided to stop for a while to get a cup of tea. Though I have 10 thread images (click on image to view album), I may decide to take more photos of other materials later.

So there. Those are my still life photos. Have a happy easter!

7 comments on “Still Life

  1. Admin says:

    nice collection, i love the DMC bec i’m a crosstitcher!
    Weekendsnapshot

  2. Hazel says:

    I love your lion – soft and cuddly. And that’s a pretty shot of your threads; brings back memories of those cross-stitching days!

  3. sassy mom says:

    I love the colors. Nice shots. Have a wonderful week ahead!

  4. Arlene says:

    Great colors! The contrast of 2 colors in the first photo is really attractive. 🙂

    Happy Monday!

  5. iska says:

    Congratulations on your still-life shots! I do think they all look great. The thread being my fave.

Leave a Reply

