Foggy Saturday

Because of the demands of both my jobs and winter’s fickle weather, I found myself neglecting little girl the past week. We normally go out for a walk every afternoon but we have not been doing so. I knew she was missing our daily bonding sessions so, last night, I promised  that we will sleep in on Saturday morning and that we shall exercise as soon as we get up. She seemed to be happy with the arrangement so today, as promised, we got up at around quarter to nine and, after getting myself sorted to avoid getting sick again  (wore layer upon layer of warm clothes, beanie to cover my head complete with gloves and thick socks) we went out for our stroll.

When little girl and I stepped out of the house, I was honestly pretty surprised that it was not freezing cold (as it has been the past few days) and equally amazed at the density of the fog at about 9:00 in the morning. The fog was so thick I thought I was no longer in Hamilton and stepped into the creepy little town of Silent Hill*.

P1050019

Everything was shrouded by a thick mist. At first I  found it eerie but later on, I got used to it and thought that this must be what it’s like to actually walk through clouds. Little girl didn’t seem to mind the fog though. She just went on her happy way and kept bouncing along.

Since we’re now right smack in the middle of winter, it’s no surprise that most of the trees had lost their leaves, were covered with moss and looked absolutely barren. Though the trees and the silhouettes they created were mysterious and intriguing, after about 2 or 3 blocks of it, the novelty wore off. The lanscape, though still beautiful, soon became quite depressing.

P1050020

Thankfully, God, in His infinite wisdom, knew that no one  would be able to survive winter if there were only the cold, biting wind, constant rain, thick  gray fog and skeletal shapes of trees all around. So He created not just regular plants that thrive in the cold and harsh winter climate, but ones that produce beautiful and fragrant flowers at that – like these cherry blossoms (at least I think these are cherry blossoms).

P1050021

Litle girl and I finished our walk at about a quarter to 10:00 and the fog has not lifted. Visibility was so low that cars run with their ‘fog lights’ turned on.

P1050022

Come to think of it, I don’t think the fog ever lifted that day. I went to work at noon and it was still very drab. However, despite being gloomy-looking, it still had its charm. I suppose it’s because … all seasons are beautiful for the person who carries happiness within. – Horace Friess

* My sister and I spent hours TRYING to play that game. We gave up because we hated having to walk around in the fog armed only with a lead pipe and a transistor radio that buzzed whenever mutant animals were around. FF8 Forevah! and Resident Evil too!

5 comments on “Foggy Saturday

  1. Dora says:

    Lovely flowers. Uhh…i don’t like fog.

  2. Meikah Delid says:

    i love the flowers photo and scared about the foggy road! 🙂

  3. Marites says:

    yeah, first pic certainly looks like a Silent hill scene. I love the cherry blossom pic! My WS is up too.

  4. Tranquility says:

    That is a lot of fog! Hmmm… it’s always so interesting to be reminded that some people are in the midst of their winters while I’m enjoying the beautiful 95 degree days of my home!

    Hope you are feeling better soon!

Leave a Reply

