my sunday at the cinema

Watched “Letters to Juliet”  with Tracey (my cooking class classmate), her daughter Emily, and her friend Agnes this afternoon at the Victoria Cinema. I really didn’t want to go because, being a chick-flick, I knew it would just pander to clichés and romantic stereotypes. True to form, the film did exactly just that. It’s your typical teeny-bopper rom-com and the storyline wasn’t strong enough to subdue the inner cynic in me. Of course the two leads would eventually fall in love with each other (like that ever happens). Of course love will blossom after a week together. Of course Lorenzo Bartolini is still alive and of course he had to make a grand entrance (read: riding on a horse, like the proverbial knight in shining armour). Geez .. I felt like I should have a massive Tui “Yeah Right” Sign pasted on my head the whole time. Ah! The joys of being jaded.

Well, cynicism aside – it was fairly enjoyable. The film was light – didn’t require any deep thinking or analysis, and had the requisite feel-good happy ending.  The scenery was absolutely fantastic (I think I can spend my entire life in Italy and still not have enough time to explore and appreciate the landscape, and the history) and Vanessa Redgrave was very … regal to say the least. She was just – classy! I guess she and Franco Nero were the reason the cinema was full of silver-haired viewers. I doubt if they knew who Amanda Seyfried was.

Sunday Afternoon @ The Vic

OR perhaps, like Claire (Vanessa Redgrave), they have a secret desire to find the Lorenzo Bartolini (Franco Nero) of their past. Nah! I think the grannies were just tickled pink to see real life partners Vanessa Redgrave and Franco Nero on screen again. But seriously, I guess the movie’s appeal is that it touches the heart. It gives hope and to eternal romantics, it reinforces a belief that true love does exist and if two people are destined to be together, they will be together.

Would I watch this film again? Not likely. Once is enough. 🙂

So that’s my weekend.

Leave a Reply

