On to Week 8!

I am now 3 “training sessions” short of finishing the Zombies, Run! 5K Training Programme. I think I mentioned that I started that way back in March but stopped “training” from mid May to about a week ago due to inclement weather. Anyway, I went out last week to finish Week 6 and start Week 7, and this weekend, I have finally completed Week 7! Yuzh!

I went out for a run yesterday and had DISMAL results. These are my stats:

Screen Shot 2013-08-04 at 11.39.06 AMI swear it was just so embarrassing! It was strange though, my pace was faster but my overall speed went down – HEAPS! And according to the GPS thingie on the app, I wasn’t even able to complete 4 kilometres and just burnt 158 calories. Meh! But then again, at least I went out for a 45-minute walk/run session. It’s still way better than just staying on my bumbum.

Okay – I take that back. I just looked at my “run record” and apparently, my GPS stopped working at 20 minutes and resumed again at about 42 minutes (3 minutes before I stopped). HAH! So that’s why my stats were so low! Yeah, I walked (briskly) for some parts but I don’t think I was that bad.

Screen Shot 2013-08-04 at 11.35.54 AM

This morning, I looked out the window and saw some sunshine even though the forecast was rain and/or showers. I was dilly-dallying about going out but I thought – F*It! Might as well go and finish week 7!  So I grudgingly put on my running gear and went out to take advantage of the good weather. After 45 minutes of huffing and puffing (I swear, I am so friggin UNFIT) …

Screen Shot 2013-08-04 at 10.57.46 AM

So much better than yesterday’s figures! Well – I did perform better than yesterday anyway. I still walked (especially going up that ridiculous hill at Box Hill) but managed to “run/jog” for most of the free-form run drills.

Screen Shot 2013-08-04 at 10.58.18 AM

My graph is still funny though.

Looking forward to completing the circuit in a fortnight! No, I can’t go out this week – even though it’s getting warmer, it still gets dark quite early in the evening – I do have my daily 3km walk to and from work anyway – so that would make up for non-runs. The following week, I’ll be up in the Waikato! Since the terrain there’s mostly flat, I will be able to test my hypothesis that I would be able to complete all the run-drills without walking, if I didn’t have to run uphill.

GOOD LUCK TO ME!

Leave a Reply

