And I’m Back (kinda)

After a long hiatus, I’ve decided to go back to … running. I used to kinda run in the past. No, I never did marathons and I didn’t run daily, but I ran. However, sometime after June 2014, I just lost the desire to do so.

I’m not sure why that happened – maybe it’s because I have reached my goals, (to run 5km without dying, and to complete a 10km run);  or that I moved homes; maybe it’s because I was “happier” and didn’t need to run to release all my angst and anger; maybe it’s because I became too focused on stats, and not on just enjoying the moment. Who knows … All I know was that I didn’t want to do it, and haven’t done it (regularly) since.

And because of that, I have (sadly) gained a bit of weight. No, I’m not overly overweight – I am what Mr. Tall Person considers as pleasantly plump. I’m generally quite happy with how I look, although sometimes (especially when I’m precariously close to my ovulation date, or when all my officemates talk about the benefits of going to the gym) I feel like a blimp. AND that happened last night. I just felt like a big blob of Blech.

So … after moping around and having a pity party for myself, I decided that it’s time to do something about it. I’ve decided that I need to get off my bum and work on it. Thus, this blog (re-activating an old one). 

The last time I had fun doing my runs, I was blogging about it. Not to brag to anyone, but as a personal record of what I’ve done. I stopped doing that, and relied on my phone’s app – and I found that counter productive. I’ve also removed Runkeeper from my phone. Yes, I know it’s like “the bestest running app EVAH” but it just didn’t work for me. It was too … technical. All specs and not a bit of fun. So I downloaded the Zombies, Run! App again. That’s what motivated me to start running – I’m hoping it would do that again this time.

I’ll also prepare a food diary again, so I can monitor my food intake; do my best to walk more; and also – when Mr. Tall Person isn’t home, do my strengthening exercises. I don’t think I can afford to have a personal trainer again, so I’ll have to train myself.

So that’s where it’s at. I’m hoping to lose a bit of chunk by the time my birthday rolls around in June. And maybe I’ll look even more smashing in the nice purple dress I bought 2 years ago (but have not yet worn, it fits – but I see my tumtum)  and start feeling lighter and healthier.

It all starts … NOW. 🙂

Leave a Reply

